Board of Directors

CCTE appreciates the time and effort these volunteer leaders. Click any name to email a message.  Download the current leadership directory as a PDF. 


Sharon Russell

Virginia Kennedy
California State University, Northridge

Vice-President for AACTE
Linda Hoff
Fresno Pacific University

Vice-President for ATE
Susan Westbrook
California Federation of Teachers

Past President
Juan Flores
California State University, Stanislaus


Eric Engdahl
California State University, East Bay

Donald Cardinal
California State University, East Bay

Cynthia Geary
University of Redlands

Deborah Hamm
California State University, Long Beach

Karen Lafferty
Claremont Graduate University & San Diego State University

Raina Leon
Saint Mary’s College of California

Lyn Scott
Humboldt State University

Mona Thompson
California State University, Channel Islands

Pia Wong
California State University, Sacramento

Editors & Staff

Kip Tellez, Editor, Teacher Education Quarterly
University of California, Santa Cruz

Bradley Porfilio, Co-Editor, Issues in Teacher Education
California State University, East Bay

Richard Kahn, Co-Editor, Issues in Teacher Education
Antioch University Los Angeles

Jo Birdsell, Editor of CCNews
National University

Alan H. Jones
CCTE Executive Secretary

Associated Organizations

Karen Cadiero-KaplanPresident of California Association of Bilingual Teacher Educators
San Diego State University

Irene Nares-Guzicki, President of California Association of Professors of Special Education
California State University, Monterey Bay

Christine ZepposPresident of Independent California Colleges and Universities Council on the Education of Teachers
Brandman University